Human Flourishing in Institutions

This programme aims to research the functioning of individuals, relations, and institutions (on a continuum varying from flourishing to languishing) and its antecedents, outcomes, and utility. Working from the capability approach and positive organisational scholarship, and considering the precariousness inherent in modern society, the research programme investigates the optimal functioning of individuals, relationships, and institutions. Flourishing refers to optimal functioning as indicated by positive emotions, a positive affect balance, satisfaction with life (and life domains), engagement, self-determination (and satisfaction of the needs for autonomy, competence. and relatedness), meaning and purpose, learning agility, positive relations, and social well-being. Languishing indicates the opposite of these types of functioning. The programme aims to develop and evaluate interventions to optimise capability, flourishing, and utility. 

 

Recent publications

2019

An ultra-short measure for work engagement: The UWES-3 validation across five countries

Schaufeli, W.B., Shimazu, A., Hakanen, J., Salanova, M. & De Witte, H.

European Journal of Psychological Assessment
2019

From surviving to thriving: Towards career well-being.

Mahomed F.E., Rothmann, S.

In M. Coetzee, I.L. Potgieter, & N. Ferreira (Eds.), Psychology of retention: Theory, research and practice
2019
View all

Members

Prof. S. (Ian) Rothmann

Programme Leader

http://www.ianrothmann.com

Dr L. (Leoni) van der Vaart

Assistant Programme Leader

leoni.vandervaart@nwu.ac.za

Dr M. (Marietta) Basson

Researcher

marietta.basson@nwu.ac.za

Dr J. (Jacqueline) Bosman

Researcher

jacqueline.bosman@nwu.ac.za

Prof. E. (Elrie) Botha

Researcher

elrie.botha@nwu.ac.za

Ms E. (Elizabeth) Bothma

Researcher

elizabeth.bothma@nwu.ac.za

Dr E. (Elsabe) Diedericks

Researcher

elsabe.diedericks@nwu.ac.za

Dr M. (Marita) Heyns

Researcher

marita.heyns@nwu.ac.za

Prof. M.W. (Marius) Stander

Researcher

marius.stander@nwu.ac.za

Prof. R. (Roland) Blonk

Extraordinary professor

Prof. S. (Sufen) Chen

Extraordinary Professor

Prof. H. (Hans) De Witte

Extraordinary Professor

http://ppw.kuleuven.be/english/wopp/hansdewitte

Dr A. (Aman) Dhir

Extraordinary Professor

Dr M. (Marieta) du Plessis

Extraordinary Researcher

Dr P. (Puneet) Kaur

Extraordinary Researcher

Dr D. (Danie) du Toit

Extraordinary Researcher

Prof. S. (Saskia) Kelders

Extraordinary Professor

s.m.kelders@utwente.nl

Dr E. (Elsabe) Keyser

Researcher

elsabe.keyser@nwu.ac.za

Prof. H. (Hans Henrik) Knoop

Extraordinary Professor

Prof. T. (Todd) Little

Extraordinary Professor

Prof. K. (Kirsti) Lonka

Extraordinary Professor

https://kirstilonka.fi/

Dr L. (Lara) Roll

Extraordinary Researcher

Prof. F.W. (Ederick) Stander

Extraordinary Professor

ederick@psychai.co.za

Prof. A.G.J. (Rens) Van De Schoot

Extraordinary Professor

https://www.rensvandeschoot.com/

Prof. A. (Anja) Van Den Broeck

Extraordinary Professor

Dr A. (Angelique) van Rensburg

Extraordinary Researcher

Prof. L.E. (Llewellyn) van Zyl

Extraordinary Professor

l.e.v.zyl@tue.nl

Prof. R (Ruut) Veenhoven

Extraordinary Professor

http://www2.eur.nl/fsw/research/veenhoven/

Dr J.J. (Kleinjan) Redelinghuys

Postdoctoral Research fellow

21887217@nwu.ac.za

R. (Rachele) Paver

Post-doctoral Research Fellow

rachele.paver@nwu.ac.za

Dr L. (Laura) Weiss

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

laura.weiss@nwu.ac.za

C. (Christiaan) Bekker

PhD Student

T. (Tessa) de Wet

PhD Student

F. (Francis) Erasmus

Master’s Student

T. (Thembelihle) Lobi

PhD Student

lobithera@gmail.com

K. (Kalashni) Narainsamy

PhD Student

E. (Elna) Rossouw

PhD Student

E. (Elette) van den Berg

PhD Student