Human Flourishing in Institutions

This programme aims to research the functioning of individuals, relations, and institutions (on a continuum varying from flourishing to languishing) and its antecedents, outcomes, and utility. Working from the capability approach and positive organisational scholarship, and considering the precariousness inherent in modern society, the research programme investigates the optimal functioning of individuals, relationships, and institutions. Flourishing refers to optimal functioning as indicated by positive emotions, a positive affect balance, satisfaction with life (and life domains), engagement, self-determination (and satisfaction of the needs for autonomy, competence. and relatedness), meaning and purpose, learning agility, positive relations, and social well-being. Languishing indicates the opposite of these types of functioning. The programme aims to develop and evaluate interventions to optimise capability, flourishing, and utility. 

 

Recent publications

2019

Debating the scientific credibility of Industrial and Organisational Psychology: A rebuttal.

Van Zyl, L. E., & Junker, M

South African Journal of Industrial Psychology
View all

Members

Prof. S. (Ian) Rothmann

Programme Leader

http://www.ianrothmann.com

Dr L. (Leoni) van der Vaart

Assistant Programme Leader

leoni.vandervaart@nwu.ac.za

Dr M. (Marietta) Basson

Researcher

marietta.basson@nwu.ac.za

Dr J. (Jacqueline) Bosman

Researcher

jacqueline.bosman@nwu.ac.za

Prof. E. (Elrie) Botha

Researcher

elrie.botha@nwu.ac.za

Ms E. (Elizabeth) Bothma

Researcher

elizabeth.bothma@nwu.ac.za

J. (Japie) Greeff

Researcher (AI)

Prof. M. (Marita) Heyns

Researcher

marita.heyns@nwu.ac.za

Prof. M.W. (Marius) Stander

Researcher

marius.stander@nwu.ac.za

Prof. R. (Roland) Blonk

Extraordinary professor

Prof. S. (Sufen) Chen

Extraordinary Professor

Prof. H. (Hans) De Witte

Extraordinary Professor

http://ppw.kuleuven.be/english/wopp/hansdewitte

Prof. A. (Aman) Dhir

Extraordinary Professor

Dr D. (Danie) du Toit

Extraordinary Researcher

Dr P. (Puneet) Kaur

Extraordinary Researcher

Prof. M. (Marieta) du Plessis

Extraordinary Researcher

Dr. M. (Matthews) Katjene

Extraordinary researcher

Prof. S. (Saskia) Kelders

Extraordinary Professor

s.m.kelders@utwente.nl

Prof. E. (Elsabe) Keyser

Researcher

elsabe.keyser@nwu.ac.za

Prof. K. (Kirsti) Lonka

Extraordinary Professor

https://kirstilonka.fi/

Prof. H. (Hans Henrik) Knoop

Extraordinary Professor

Prof. T. (Todd) Little

Extraordinary Professor

Dr L. (Lara) Roll

Extraordinary Researcher

Dr A. (Angelique) van Rensburg

Extraordinary Researcher

Prof. F.W. (Ederick) Stander

Extraordinary Professor

ederick@psychai.co.za

Prof. A.G.J. (Rens) Van De Schoot

Extraordinary Professor

https://www.rensvandeschoot.com/

Prof. A. (Anja) Van Den Broeck

Extraordinary Professor

Prof. L.E. (Llewellyn) van Zyl

Extraordinary Professor

l.e.v.zyl@tue.nl

Prof. R (Ruut) Veenhoven

Extraordinary Professor

http://www2.eur.nl/fsw/research/veenhoven/

Dr R. (Rachele) Paver

Post-doctoral Research Fellow

rachele.paver@nwu.ac.za

Dr J.J. (Kleinjan) Redelinghuys

Postdoctoral Research fellow

21887217@nwu.ac.za

Dr L. (Laura) Weiss

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

laura.weiss@nwu.ac.za

C. (Christiaan) Bekker

PhD Student

L. (Lynelle) Coxen

PhD Student

T. (Thapelo) Chachaa

PhD Student

K. (Kgomotso) Malinga

Researcher

S. (Sibusiso) Mnxuma

Researcher

T. (Tessa) de Wet

PhD Student

F. (Francis) Erasmus

Master’s Student

P. (Praise) Choeni

PhD Student

D. (Deon) Kleynhans

PhD Student

T. (Thembelihle) Lobi

PhD Student

lobithera@gmail.com

J. (Jon-Jon) Mason

PhD Student

A. (Annalisa) Murangi

PhD Student

K. (Kalashni) Narainsamy

PhD Student

M. (Mandla) Ndlangamandla

PhD Student

S. (Suzette) Ragadu

PhD Student

E. (Elna) Rossouw

PhD Student

E. (Elette) van den Berg

PhD Student

C. (Coen) Welsh

PhD Student